Skip to main content

City of Knoxville ( Knox )

City County Building, 400 Main Street
Knoxville, TN 37902
(865) 215-2000
Fax:(865) 215-2085
http://www.knoxvilletn.gov

General Information

Office Hours: 
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

Utilities

Municipal Statistics

County: 
Knox
2019 Population
Next Election:
11-07-2017
Number of Employees: 
1600
Grand Division: 
East
2010 Population
Time Zone: 
Eastern

Meeting Information

Meeting Day: 
Every Other Tuesday
Meeting Time: 
6:00 PM
Meeting Place: 
City County Building

Municipal Data

Charter: 
Home Rule - 1982
Date of Incorporation: 
02/01/1791
Charter File: 
Incorporation Act: 
Private Acts 1791
Previous Charter Citations: 
Private Acts 1794, ch. 13, p. 83; Private Acts 1796, ch. 21, p. 65; Private Acts 1801, ch. 75, p. 171; Private Acts 1815, ch. 202, p. 270; Public Acts 1885, ch. 8, p. 48; Private Acts 1907, ch. 207, p. 755; Private Acts 1909, ch. 589, p. 2048; Private Acts 1911, ch. 498, p. 1406; Private Acts 1923, ch. 412, p. 1483

Governing Body and Staff

Governing Body
Mayor Ms. Indya Kincannon (865) 215-2040
mayor@knoxvilletn.gov
Vice Mayor Ms. Gwen McKenzie (865) 215-2075
gmckenzie@knoxvilletn.gov
Councilmember Ms. Lynne Fugate (865) 215-2075
lfugate@knoxvilletn.gov
Councilmember Ms. Amelia Parker (865) 215-2075
amparker@knoxvilletn.gov
Councilmember Ms. Lauren Rider (865) 215-2075
lrider@knoxvilletn.gov
Councilmember Mr. Andrew Roberto (865) 215-2075
aroberto@knoxvilletn.gov
Councilmember Ms. Seema Singh (865) 215-2075
ssingh@knoxvilletn.gov
Councilmember Mr. Tommy Smith (865) 215-2075
tsmith@knoxvilletn.gov
Councilmember Ms. Janet Testerman (865) 215-2075
jtesterman@knoxvilletn.gov
Councilmember Mr. Charles Thomas (865) 215-2075
cathomas@knoxvilletn.gov
Staff
Assistant Engineer Mr. Chris Howley (865) 215-3764
City Engineer Mr. Jim Hagerman, P.E. (865) 215-2148
jhagerman@knoxvilletn.gov
City Judge Mr. John Rosson, Jr. (865) 521-7474
City Recorder Mr. Will Johnson (865) 215-2044
wjohnson@knoxvilletn.gov
Civil Service Director Ms. Vicki Hatfield (865) 215-2106
vhatfield@knoxvilletn.gov
Communications Director Ms. Kristin Farley (865) 215-2589
kfarley@knoxvilletn.gov
Community Development Director Ms. Becky Wade (865) 215-2865
bwade@knoxvilletn.gov
Community Relations Director Mr. Charles Lomax (865) 215-2040
areid@knoxvilletn.gov
Court Administrator Ms. Valerie Coleman (865) 215-7474
vcoleman@knoxvilletn.gov
Deputy Police Chief Mr. Ron Green (865) 215-7229
Director of Building Inspections Mr. Peter M. Ahrens (865) 215-3939
pahrens@knoxvilletn.gov
Director of Human Resources Ms. Kelly Drummond (865) 215-3100
kdrummond@knoxvilletn.gov
Finance Director Mr. Boyce Evans (865) 215-2062
bevans@knoxvilletn.gov
Fire Chief Mr. Stan Sharp (865) 595-4480
ssharp@knoxvilletn.gov
Information Systems Director Ms. Janet Wright (865) 215-2524
jwright@knoxvilletn.gov
Parks and Recreation Director Ms. Sheryl Ely (865) 215-4311
sely@knoxvilletn.gov
Planning Director Mr. Gerald Green (865) 215-2000
Police Chief Ms. Eve Thomas (865) 215-7229
Pubic Service Deputy Ms. Rachel Butzler (865) 215-6015
rbutzler@knoxvilletn.gov
Public Service Director Mr. Chad Weth (865) 215-2060
cweth@knoxvilletn.gov
Public Works Director Mr. Stephen King (865) 215-2148
sking@knoxvilletn.gov
Redevelopment Director Ms. Dawn Michelle Foster (865) 215-2607
dmfoster@knoxvilletn.gov
Waste and Resources Manager Ms. Patience Melnik (865) 215-4311
pmelnik@knoxvilletn.gov
Attorney
Deputy Law Director Mr. Ronald Mills (865) 215-2050
Law Director Mr. Charles Swanson (865) 215-2050
cswanson@knoxvilletn.gov

MTAS Consultants

Fire: Steve Cross (615) 532-7108
Finance: Vacant - Upper East (865) 974-0411
HR: Betsy Cunningham (865) 974-6689
Mgmt: Angie Carrier (865) 974-9063
Police: Rex Barton (423) 506-0402
PW: Sharon Rollins (865) 974-0416
Training: Johanna Owenby (865) 974-9858

*Population figure provided by the State of Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development, Center for Economic Research in Tennessee (CERT) and updated annually.