Skip to main content

City of Sweetwater ( McMinn, Monroe )

203 Monroe Street, P.O. Box 267
Sweetwater, TN 37874
(423) 337-6979
Fax:(423) 337-9663
http://www.sweetwatertn.net/

General Information

Office Hours: 
Mon-Fri 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM

Utilities

City Utilities: 
Electric
Gas
Sewer
Water

Municipal Statistics

County: 
McMinn, Monroe
2020 Population
Next Election:
06-08-2021
Number of Employees: 
60
Grand Division: 
East
2010 Population
Time Zone: 
Eastern

Meeting Information

Meeting Day: 
1st Monday
Meeting Time: 
5:00 PM
Meeting Place: 
City Hall

Municipal Data

Charter: 
Home Rule - 1958
Date of Incorporation: 
02/01/1901
Charter File: 
Incorporation Act: 
Private Acts 1901, ch. 258, p. 557

Governing Body and Staff

Governing Body
Mayor Mr. Doyle F. Lowe (423) 337-6979
dlowe@sweetwatertn.net
Vice Mayor Mr. Billy G. West (423) 337-6979
jmorgan@sweetwatertn.net
Commissioner Mr. Lamar Hughes (423) 337-6979
lhughes@sweetwatertn.net
Commissioner Mr. Sam Moser (423) 337-6979
jmorgan@sweetwatertn.net
Commissioner Mr. Alan Richeson (423) 337-6979
aricheson@sweetwatertn.net
Commissioner Mr. Bill W. Stockton (423) 337-6979
jmorgan@sweetwatertn.net
Staff
Assistant City Recorder Ms. Sonya Crush (423) 337-6979
scrush@sweetwatertn.net
City Judge Mr. Peter Alliman (423) 337-6979
City Recorder, City Court Clerk Ms. Jessica Morgan (423) 337-6979
jmorgan@sweetwatertn.net
Code Enforcement Officer Mr. Chuck Whited (423) 337-9678
cwhited@sweetwatertn.net
Director of Schools Mr. Rodney Boruff (423) 337-7051
Fire Chief Mr. John Anderson (423) 337-6724
Library Director Ms. Tania Rich (423) 337-6979
Parks and Recreation Director Mr. Tim Crawford (423) 337-4120
Police Chief Mr. Robert E. Byrum (423) 337-6151
sweetwaterpd@sweetwatertn.net
Street Superintendent Mr. Richard Jenkins (423) 337-7225
Utility Manager Mr. Eric Hicks (423) 337-5081

MTAS Consultants

Fire: Steve Cross (615) 532-7108
Finance: Brad Harris (423) 718-0797
HR: Betsy Cunningham (865) 974-6689
Mgmt: Angie Carrier (865) 974-9063
Police: Rex Barton (423) 506-0402
PW: VACANT (865) 974-0411
Training: Johanna Owenby (865) 974-9858

*Population figure provided by the State of Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development, Center for Economic Research in Tennessee (CERT) and updated annually.