Skip to main content

City of Portland ( Sumner )

100 South Russell Street
Portland, TN 37148
(615) 325-6776
Fax: (615) 325-7075
http://www.cityofportlandtn.gov

General Information

Office Hours: 
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

Utilities

City Utilities: 
Garbage
Gas
Sewer
Water

Municipal Statistics

County: 
Sumner
2020 Population
Next Election:
11-08-2022
Number of Employees: 
180
Grand Division: 
Middle
2010 Population
Time Zone: 
Central

Meeting Information

Meeting Day: 
1st and 3rd Mondays
Meeting Time: 
5:00 PM
Meeting Place: 
Portland Public Library - Temporarily

Municipal Data

Charter: 
Private Acts 1939, ch. 568, p. 1776
Date of Incorporation: 
02/01/1905
Charter File: 
Incorporation Act: 
Private Acts 1905, ch. 288, p. 613
Previous Charter Citations: 
Private Acts 1905, ch. 288, p. 613

Governing Body and Staff

Staff
Assistant Park Director Ms. Tammy Groves (615) 325-6776 Ext. 180
tgroves@cityofportlandtn.gov
Assistant to the Mayor Ms. Teresa Keen (615) 325-6776 Ext. 243
tfleming@cityofportlandtn.gov
City Court Clerk Ms. Kristi Gibbs (615) 325-6776 Ext. 234
kgibbs@cityofportlandtn.gov
City Engineer Ms. Cindy Wheeler (615) 325-6776 Ext. 622
cwheeler@cityofportlandtn.gov
City Judge Mr. Joseph "Jack" B. Freedle (615) 325-6776
jbfreedle@gmail.com
City Recorder Ms. Patricia Keen (615) 325-6776 Ext. 261
pgkeen@cityofportlandtn.gov
Community Development Director Ms. Denise M. Geminden (615) 325-6776 Ext. 246
geminden@cityofportlandtn.gov
Director of Public Works Mr. Carlton Cobb (615) 325-6776 Ext. 500
ccobb@cityofportlandtn.gov
Finance Director Ms. Rachel Slusser, CMFO (615) 325-6776 Ext. 231
Fire Chief Mr. Sam Thornton (615) 325-5646 Ext. 305
Human Resources Director Ms. Hazel Johnson (615) 325-6776 Ext. 244
hjohnson@cityofportlandtn.gov
Parks and Recreation Director Mr. Jamie White (615) 325-6776 Ext. 183
jwhite@cityofportlandtn.gov
Police Chief Mr. Jason Williams (615) 325-6776 Ext. 701
jwilliams@cityofportlandtn.gov
Utilities Director Mr. Bryan Price (615) 325-6776
Attorney
City Attorney Mr. John R. Bradley (615) 325-4345
jrbradley@comcast.net

MTAS Consultants

Fire: Steve Cross (615) 532-7108
Finance: Cassie Wheeler (615) 467-6155
HR: John Grubbs (615) 532-2588
Mgmt: Gary Jaeckel (615) 253-4814
Police: David Moore (731) 514-2715
PW: John Chlarson (731) 425-4785
Training: Vacant (865) 974-0411

*Population figure provided by the State of Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development, Center for Economic Research in Tennessee (CERT) and updated annually.