What can we help you find today?

Portland

City of Portland ( Sumner )

100 South Russell Street
Portland, TN 37148
(615) 325-6776
Fax: 
(615) 325-7075

General Information

Office Hours: 
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

Utilities

City Utilities: 
Garbage
Gas
Sewer
Water

Municipal Statistics

County: 
Sumner
2019 Population
Election Date:
11-03-2020
Number of Employees: 
180
Grand Division: 
Middle
2010 Population
Time Zone: 
Central

Meeting Information

Meeting Day: 
1st and 3rd Mondays

Meeting Time: 
5:00 PM

Meeting Place: 
Portland Public Library - Temporarily

Municipal Data

Charter: 
Private Acts 1939, ch. 568, p. 1776

Date of Incorporation: 
02/01/1905

Charter File: 

Governing Body and Staff

Staff
Administrative Assistant to the Mayor Ms. Teresa Keen (615) 325-6776
tfleming@cityofportlandtn.gov
Assistant Park Director Ms. Tammy Groves (615) 325-6776 Ext. 180
tgroves@cityofportlandtn.gov
City Judge Mr. Joseph "Jack" B. Freedle (615) 325-6776
jbfreedle@gmail.com
City Recorder Ms. Patricia Keen (615) 325-6776 Ext. 261
pgkeen@cityofportland.tn.gov
Community Development Director Ms. Denise M. Geminden (615) 325-6776 Ext. 246
geminden@cityofportlandtn.gov
Finance Director Mr. Doug Yoeckel (615) 325-6776 Ext. 231
dyoeckel@cityofportlandtn.gov
Fire Chief Mr. Al West (615) 325-5649 Ext. 301
awest@cityofportlandtn.gov
Human Resources Director Mr. John Grubbs (615) 325-6776 Ext. 244
jgrubbs@cityofportlandtn.gov
Interim Police Chief Mr. Jason Williams (615) 325-6776 Ext. 701
jwilliams@cityofportlandtn.gov
Parks and Recreation Director Mr. Jamie White (615) 325-6776 Ext. 183
jwhite@cityofportlandtn.gov
Public Works Superintendent Mr. Steve Whitehead (615) 325-6776 Ext. 501
swhitehead@cityofportlandtn.gov
Utilities Director, Engineer Mr. Bryan Price (615) 325-6776 Ext. 626
bprice@cityofportlandtn.gov

MTAS Consultants

Mgmt:
Gary Jaeckel (615) 253-4814
Finance:
Ralph Cross (615) 532-4946
HR:
John Grubbs (615) 532-2588
Police:
David Moore (731) 881-7057
Fire:
Steve Cross (615) 532-7108
PW:
John Chlarson (731) 425-4785

*Population figure provided by the State of Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development, Center for Economic Research in Tennessee (CERT) and updated annually.

Staff
Administrative Assistant to the Mayor Ms. Teresa Keen (615) 325-6776
tfleming@cityofportlandtn.gov
Assistant Park Director Ms. Tammy Groves (615) 325-6776 Ext. 180
tgroves@cityofportlandtn.gov
City Judge Mr. Joseph "Jack" B. Freedle (615) 325-6776
jbfreedle@gmail.com
City Recorder Ms. Patricia Keen (615) 325-6776 Ext. 261
pgkeen@cityofportland.tn.gov
Community Development Director Ms. Denise M. Geminden (615) 325-6776 Ext. 246
geminden@cityofportlandtn.gov
Finance Director Mr. Doug Yoeckel (615) 325-6776 Ext. 231
dyoeckel@cityofportlandtn.gov
Fire Chief Mr. Al West (615) 325-5649 Ext. 301
awest@cityofportlandtn.gov
Human Resources Director Mr. John Grubbs (615) 325-6776 Ext. 244
jgrubbs@cityofportlandtn.gov
Interim Police Chief Mr. Jason Williams (615) 325-6776 Ext. 701
jwilliams@cityofportlandtn.gov
Parks and Recreation Director Mr. Jamie White (615) 325-6776 Ext. 183
jwhite@cityofportlandtn.gov
Public Works Superintendent Mr. Steve Whitehead (615) 325-6776 Ext. 501
swhitehead@cityofportlandtn.gov
Utilities Director, Engineer Mr. Bryan Price (615) 325-6776 Ext. 626
bprice@cityofportlandtn.gov

Our Information

Profiles on cities and towns in Tennessee are updated by each municipality.

Click on the name of an individual to access their mailing address.

Updating Individuals

Is there a municipal official or staff member who needs to be updated? Click on the individual's name and submit changes.

Updating City Stats

Do you see information about the municipal data that needs to be updated? If so, click on the button below to submit changes.

Municipal Stats