Skip to main content

City of Morristown ( Hamblen )

100 West First North Street, P.O. Box 1499
Morristown, TN 37816-1499
(423) 581-0100
Fax:(423) 586-1205
http://www.mymorristown.com

General Information

Office Hours: 
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Utilities

City Utilities: 
Garbage

Municipal Statistics

County: 
Hamblen
2020 Population
Next Election:
05-07-2019
Number of Employees: 
215
Grand Division: 
East
2010 Population
Time Zone: 
Eastern

Meeting Information

Meeting Day: 
1st and 3rd Tuesday
Meeting Time: 
5:00 PM
Meeting Place: 
Municipal Building

Municipal Data

Charter: 
Private Acts 1903, ch. 103, p. 184
Date of Incorporation: 
02/01/1867
Charter File: 
Incorporation Act: 
Private Acts 1867-68, ch. 19, p. 18

Governing Body and Staff

Governing Body
Mayor Mr. Gary Chesney (423) 581-0100
gchesney@mymorristown.com
Councilmember Mr. Al A'Hearn (423) 581-0100
aahearn@mymorristown.com
Councilmember Mr. Chris Bivens (423) 581-0100
cbivens@mymorristown.com
Councilmember Mr. Bob Garrett (423) 581-0100
bgarrett@mymorristown.com
Councilmember Mr. Tommy Pedigo (423) 581-0100
tpedigo@mymorristown.com
Councilmember Ms. Kay Senter (423) 581-0100
ksenter@mymorristown.com
Councilmember Mr. Ken Smith (423) 581-0100
ksmith@mymorristown.com
Staff
Assistant City Administrator for Finance and Administration Mr. Joey Barnard (423) 581-4110
jbarnard@mymorristown.com
Assistant City Administrator for Operations Mr. Larry Clark (423) 585-4617
lclark@mymorristown.com
City Administrator Mr. Anthony "Tony" Cox (423) 581-0100
tcox@mymorristown.com
City Court Clerk Ms. Tara Bain (423) 585-4608
tbain@mymorristown.com
City Judge Mr. Matt Sexton (423) 585-0100
Code Enforcement Officer Mr. Nicholas Greene (423) 317-1626
ngreene@mymorristown.com
Code Enforcement Officer Ms. Kim Lester (423) 317-1633
klester@mymorristown.com
Deputy Clerk, Executive Assistant Ms. Cindy Dibb (423) 585-4603
cdibb@mymorristown.com
Economic & Community Development Director Mr. Steve Neilson (423) 581-0100
sneilson@mymorristown.com
Emergency Management Director Mr. Chris Bell (423) 581-6225
cbell@co.hamblen.tn.us
Fire Chief Mr. Clark Taylor (423) 585-4655
Information Technology Director Mr. Pavel Plasencia (423) 273-3447
pavel@mymorristown.com
Parks and Recreation Director Mr. Craig Price (423) 586-0260
cprice@mymorristown.com
Police Chief Mr. Roger Overholt (423) 585-4631
chiefofpolice@mymorristown.com
Public Works Director Mr. Paul Brown (423) 585-4658
pbrown@mymorristown.com
Attorney
City Attorney Ms. Lauren Carroll (423) 581-0100

MTAS Consultants

Fire: Steve Cross (615) 532-7108
Finance: Travis Bishop (423) 435-9662
HR: Betsy Cunningham (865) 974-6689
Mgmt: Pat Hardy (423) 854-9882
Police: Rex Barton (423) 506-0402
PW: VACANT (865) 974-0411
Training: Johanna Owenby (865) 974-9858

*Population figure provided by the State of Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development, Center for Economic Research in Tennessee (CERT) and updated annually.