Skip to main content

City of Memphis ( Shelby )

125 N. Main Street
Memphis, TN 38103
(901) 576-6500
Fax:(901) 576-6200
http://memphistn.gov

General Information

Office Hours: 
Mon-Fri 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM

Utilities

City Utilities: 
Electric
Garbage
Gas
Sewer

Municipal Statistics

County: 
Shelby
2020 Population
Next Election:
10-03-2023
Number of Employees: 
6800
Grand Division: 
West
2010 Population
Time Zone: 
Central

Meeting Information

Meeting Day: 
1st and 3rd Tuesday
Meeting Time: 
3:30 PM
Meeting Place: 
City Hall

Municipal Data

Charter: 
Home Rule - 1963
Date of Incorporation: 
02/01/1826
Charter File: 
Incorporation Act: 
Private Acts 1826, ch. 145
Previous Charter Citations: 
Private Acts 1847-48, ch. 74, p. 114; Private Acts 1879, ch. 11, p. 15; Private Acts 1903, ch. 366, p. 1097; Private Acts 1905, ch. 54, p. 99; Private Acts 1907, ch. 194, ch. 562; Private Acts 1909, ch. 298, p. 1059; Private Acts 1941, ch. 44, p. 169; Private Acts 1947, ch. 519, p. 2132

Governing Body and Staff

Staff
Chief Communications Officer Ms. Ursula Madden (901) 576-6011
ursula.madden@memphistn.gov
Chief Financial Officer Ms. Shirley Ford (901) 636-6657
shirley.ford@memphistn.gov
Chief Human Resources Officer Ms. Alexandria "Alex" Smith (901) 636-6403
alex.smith@memphistn.gov
Chief Information Officer Ms. Kimberly Bailey (901) 636-6229
CIO@memphistn.gov
Chief Operating Officer, City Manager Mr. Doug McGowen (901) 636-6558
coo@memphistn.gov
City Court Clerk Ms. Myron Lowery (901) 636-3400
walter.person@memphistn.gov
City Judge-Administrative Judge Mr. Tarik Sugarman (901) 636-3440
tarik.sugarman@memphistn.gov
City Recorder Ms. Valerie Snipes (901) 636-6223
valerie.snipes@memphistn.gov
Comptroller Ms. Dywuana Morris (901) 636-6682
dywuana.morris@memphistn.gov
COO Executive Assistant Ms. Denise Stanley Folk (901) 636-6558
Deputy Director Code Enforcement Mr. Parick Dandridge (901) 576-7380
Director of Code Enforcement Ms. Melanie Neal (901) 636-4704
melanie.neal@memphistn.gov
Director of Police Services Mr. Michael Rallings (901) 545-5705
Director of Public Works Mr. Robert Knecht (901) 636-6762
pubworks@memphistn.gov
Executive Assistant to CHRO VACANT
Fire Director Ms. Gina Sweat (901) 636-1400
MFDinquiries@memphistn.gov
General Services Director Mr. Antonio Adams (901) 576-6326
HCD Director Mr. Paul Young (901) 636-7300
Interim Director of Engineering Mr. Manny Belen (901) 576-6700
engineering@memphistn.gov
Library Director Mr. Keenon McCloy (901) 415-2750
MHA Executive Director Ms. Marcia Lewis (901) 544-1100
Parks and Neighborhood Director Mr. Carey "Nick" Walker (901) 636-4200
nick.walker@memphistn.gov
Planning & Development Director Mr. Richard "Rick" S. Copeland (901) 576-7197
rick.copeland@memphistn.gov
Revenue Coordinator Ms. Kametris Wyatt (901) 636-6196
kametris.wyatt@memphistn.gov
Solid Waste Director Mr. Albert Lamar (901) 636-6871
albert.lamar@memphistn.gov
Treasurer Mr. La'Keith Miller (901) 636-6316
lakeith.miller@memphistn.gov
Wastewater Manager Mr. Robert Knecht (901) 636-6762
pubworks@memphistn.gov

MTAS Consultants

Fire: Dennis Wolf (901) 579-9247
Finance: Kay Stegall (731) 641-4157
HR: Peter Voss (731) 425-4781
Mgmt: Ronnie Neill (901) 412-2121
Police: David Moore (731) 327-6387
PW: John Chlarson (731) 425-4785
Training: Yolanda Dillard (901) 410-5386

*Population figure provided by the State of Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development, Center for Economic Research in Tennessee (CERT) and updated annually.