Skip to main content

City of Johnson City ( Carter, Sullivan, Washington )

601 East Main Street, P.O. Box 2150
Johnson City, TN 37605-2150
(423) 434-6000
Fax:(423) 434-6295
https://www.johnsoncitytn.com

General Information

Office Hours: 
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Utilities

City Utilities: 
Electric
Garbage
Sewer
Water

Municipal Statistics

County: 
Carter, Sullivan, Washington
2020 Population
Next Election:
11-01-2022
Number of Employees: 
985
Grand Division: 
East
2010 Population
Time Zone: 
Eastern

Meeting Information

Meeting Day: 
1st and 3rd Thursday
Meeting Time: 
6:00 PM
Meeting Place: 
Municipal Safety Building

Municipal Data

Charter: 
Home Rule - 1955
Date of Incorporation: 
12/01/1869
Charter File: 
Incorporation Act: 
Private Acts 1869-70, ch. 26, sec. 112, p. 254
Previous Charter Citations: 
Public Acts 1885, ch. 25, p. 72; Public Acts 1889, ch. 126, p. 231; Private Acts 1897, ch. 210, p. 443; Private Acts 1909, ch. 125, p. 407; Private Acts 1925, ch. 493, p. 1843; Private Acts 1933, ch. 587, p. 1416; Private Acts 1939, ch. 189, p. 503

Governing Body and Staff

Staff
Assistant City Manager Mr. Charles J. Stahl, IV (423) 434-6003
cstahl@johnsoncitytn.org
Assistant City Manager Mr. Robert L. Wilson, Jr. (423) 434-6004
bwilson@johnsoncitytn.org
Chief Building Official Mr. Jeff Canon (423) 483-5793
jcanon@johnsoncitytn.org
City Engineer VACANT
City Judge Mr. Stan Widener, Jr. (423) 434-6131
City Manager Mr. M. D. "Pete" Peterson (423) 434-6002
citymgr@johnsoncitytn.org
City Recorder, Finance Director Ms. Janet Jennings (423) 434-6033
janetj@johnsoncitytn.org
Communications & Marketing Director Ms. Keisha Shoun (423) 434-6021
kshoun@johnsoncitytn.org
Court Clerk Ms. Susan Thompson (423) 434-6160
sthompson@johnsoncitytn.org
Director of Development Services Mr. Preston Mitchell (423) 434-5955
pmitchell@johnsoncitytn.org
Emergency Management Director Mr. Rusty Sells (423) 434-6082
rsellsema@earthlink.net
Information Technology Director Ms. Lisa Sagona (423) 434-6000
lsagona@johnsoncitytn.org
Interim Fire Chief Mr. David Bell (423) 975-2840
dbell@johnsoncitytn.org
Interim Human Resources Director Mr. Bob Wilson (423) 434-6004
bwilson@johnsoncitytn.org
Juvenile Court Judge Ms. Sharon M. Green (423) 434-6000
sgreen@johnsoncitytn.org
Parks and Recreation Director Mr. James Ellis (423) 283-5809
jellis@johnsoncitytn.org
Police Chief Mr. Karl Turner (423) 434-6159
Public Works Director Mr. Phil Pindzola (423) 434-6080
ppindzola@johnsoncitytn.org
Purchasing Director Ms. Debbie Dillon (423) 975-2717
ddillion@johnsoncitytn.org
Risk Manager Ms. Joy Baker (423) 434-6010
jbaker@johnsoncitytn.org
School Superintendent Dr. Steven Barnett (423) 434-5202
barnetts@jcschools.org
Water/Sewer Services Director, Wastewater Manager Mr. Tom Witherspoon (423) 434-6062
twitherspoon@johnsoncitytn.org

MTAS Consultants

Fire: Steve Cross (615) 532-7108
Finance: Travis Bishop (423) 435-9662
HR: Betsy Cunningham (865) 974-6689
Mgmt: Pat Hardy (423) 854-9882
Police: Rex Barton (423) 506-0402
PW: Sharon Rollins (865) 974-0416
Training: Johanna Owenby (865) 974-9858

*Population figure provided by the State of Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development, Center for Economic Research in Tennessee (CERT) and updated annually.