Skip to main content

City of Elizabethton ( Carter )

136 S. Sycamore Street
Elizabethton, TN 37643
(423) 547-6200
Fax:(423) 542-1510
http://www.elizabethton.org/

General Information

Office Hours: 
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Utilities

City Utilities: 
Electric
Garbage
Sewer
Water

Municipal Statistics

County: 
Carter
2020 Population
Next Election:
11-03-2020
Number of Employees: 
250
Grand Division: 
East
2010 Population
Time Zone: 
Eastern

Meeting Information

Meeting Day: 
2nd Thursday
Meeting Time: 
6:00 PM
Meeting Place: 
Municipal Building

Municipal Data

Charter: 
General Law Modified Manager-Council (TCA 6-30-101 et seq.)
Date of Incorporation: 
12/01/1799
Charter File: 
Incorporation Act: 
Private Acts 1799, Ch. 5, p. 21
Previous Charter Citations: 
Private Acts 1832, ch. 48, p. 37; Private Acts 1837-38, ch. 233 (repealed charter from 1832); Private Acts 1849-50, ch. 25, p. 66; Private Acts 1905, ch. 528, p. 1191; Private Acts 1927, ch. 261, p. 719; Private Acts 1931, ch. 699, p. 1891; Private Acts 1935, ch. 690, p. 1838; Private Acts 1937, ch. 437, p. 1353, General Law Modified Manager-Council (TCA 6-30-101 et seq.), 1965

Governing Body and Staff

Staff
Chief Building Official VACANT
City Judge Mr. Jason Holly (423) 547-6419
City Manager Mr. Daniel Estes (423) 542-1507
destes@cityofelizabethton.org
Code Enforcement Officer Mr. Chris Issacs (423) 547-7407
cissacs@cityofelizabethton.org
Deputy City Clerk, Executive Assistant to City Manager Ms. Jennifer Arnold (423) 547-1516
jarnold@cityofelizabethton.org
Director of Schools Mr. Richard Vanhuss (423) 547-8000
richard.vanhuss@ecschools.net
Finance Director, City Clerk Mr. Preston T. Cobb (423) 547-6231
pcobb@cityofelizabethton.org
Fire Chief Mr. Barry Carrier (423) 547-6390
bcarrier@cityofelizabethton.org
Fleet Maintenance Supervisor Mr. Hunter Pierson (423) 547-4322
hpierson@cityofelizabethton.org
Interim Electric Manager Mr. Brandon Shell (423) 547-8634
bshell@cityofelizabethton.org
Library Director Ms. Bernadette Weese (423) 547-6364
bweese@cityofelizabethton.org
Municipal Court Clerk Ms. Kendra Wright (423) 547-6419
kwright@elizabethtonpolice.org
Network Administrator Mr. Anthony Lawrence (423) 547-6284
alawrence@cityofelizabethton.org
Parks and Recreation Director Mr. Mike Mains (423) 547-6440
mmains@cityofelizabethton.org
Personnel Director, Risk Management Director Ms. Angela D. Lyons (423) 547-6248
alyons@cityofelizabethton.org
Planning Director, Economic Development Director Ms. Logan Engle (423) 542-1502
lengle@cityofelizabethton.org
Police Chief Mr. Jason Shaw (423) 547-6403
jshaw@elizabethtonpolice.org
Purchasing Director Mr. Greg Workman (423) 542-1505
gworkman@cityofelizabethton.org
Stormwater Coordinator Mr. Joe Barnette (423) 547-6240
jbarnette@cityofelizabethton.org
Street Superintendent, Sanitation Manager Mr. Danny Hilbert (423) 547-6309
dhilbert@cityofelizabethton.org
Water Manager, Wastewater Manager Mr. Ed Mullins (423) 547-6347
emullins@cityofelizabethton.org
Water Resources Interim General Manager Mr. Jonathan Pleasant (423) 297-9128
jpleasant@cityofelizabethton.org
Attorney
City Attorney Mr. Roger G. Day (423) 542-9575

MTAS Consultants

Fire: Steve Cross (615) 532-7108
Finance: Travis Bishop (423) 435-9662
HR: Betsy Cunningham (865) 974-6689
Mgmt: Pat Hardy (423) 854-9882
Police: Rex Barton (423) 506-0402
PW: Sharon Rollins (865) 974-0416
Training: Johanna Owenby (865) 974-9858

*Population figure provided by the State of Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development, Center for Economic Research in Tennessee (CERT) and updated annually.