Skip to main content

City of Covington ( Tipton )

200 West Washington Ave., P.O. Box 768
Covington, TN 38019-0768
(901) 476-9613
Fax:(901) 476-6699
http://www.covingtontn.com

General Information

Office Hours: 
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Utilities

Municipal Statistics

County: 
Tipton
2020 Population
Next Election:
11-08-2022
Number of Employees: 
147
Grand Division: 
West
2010 Population
Time Zone: 
Central

Meeting Information

Meeting Day: 
2nd and 4th Tuesday
Meeting Time: 
5:30 PM
Meeting Place: 
City Hall

Municipal Data

Charter: 
Private Acts 2006, ch. 132
Date of Incorporation: 
12/01/1826
Charter File: 
Incorporation Act: 
Private Acts 1903, ch. 322, p. 954

Governing Body and Staff

Governing Body
Mayor Mr. Justin Hanson (901) 476-9613
jhanson@covingtontn.com
Vice Mayor Ms. Johnnetta L. Yarbrough (901) 476-9613
Alderman Mr. John Edwards (901) 476-9613
Alderman Mr. Jeff Morris (901) 476-9613
Alderman Mr. Chris Richardson (901) 476-9613
Alderman Mr. C.H. Sullivan (901) 476-9613
Alderman Mr. Danny Wallace (901) 476-9613
Staff
Accountant Ms. Kristin Mathis (901) 476-9613
kmathis@covingtontn.com
Assistant to the Mayor Mrs. Rebecca Ray (901) 476-9613
rray@covingtontn.com
City Court Clerk Ms. Carolyn Scott (901) 476-0243
cscott@covingtontn.com
City Judge Mr. J.B. Witherington, IV (901) 475-2700
Code Enforcement Director, Building Inspector Ms. Lessie Fisher (901) 476-9613
lfisher@covingtontn.com
Emergency Management Director Mr. Thomas "Tommy" Dunavant (901) 840-3000
tdunavant@tiptonco.com
Fire Chief Mr. Richard Griggs (901) 476-2578
rgriggs@covingtontn.com
Human Resource Director Ms. Eboni Eaton, Ed.S. (901) 504-8978
eeaton@covingtontn.com
Library Director Ms. Susan Cheairs (901) 476-8289
Parks and Recreation Director Mrs. Molly Griffin Glass (901) 504-8982
mglass@covingtontn.com
Police Chief Mr. Larry Lindsey (901) 313-9826
llindsey@covingtontn.com
Public Works Director Mr. David Gray (901) 476-9613
dgray@covingtontn.com
Street Superintendent Mr. James Dowell (901) 476-6793
Treasurer, City Recorder Ms. Tina Dunn (901) 476-9613
tdunn@covingtontn.com
Utility Manager Mr. Calvin Johnson (901) 476-0583
Water Manager Mr. James Mason (901) 475-4965

MTAS Consultants

Fire: Dennis Wolf (901) 579-9247
Finance: Kay Stegall (731) 641-4157
HR: Peter Voss (731) 425-4781
Mgmt: Ronnie Neill (901) 412-2121
Police: David Moore (731) 327-6387
PW: John Chlarson (731) 425-4785
Training: Yolanda Dillard (901) 410-5386

*Population figure provided by the State of Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development, Center for Economic Research in Tennessee (CERT) and updated annually.