Skip to main content

City of Chattanooga ( Hamilton, Marion )

City Hall, 101 East 11th Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402
(423) 643-7800
http://www.chattanooga.gov

General Information

Office Hours: 
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

Utilities

City Utilities: 
Electric
Garbage
Sewer

Municipal Statistics

County: 
Hamilton, Marion
2020 Population
Next Election:
05-03-2022
Number of Employees: 
2509
Grand Division: 
East
2010 Population
Time Zone: 
Eastern

Meeting Information

Meeting Day: 
Every Tuesday
Meeting Time: 
6:00 PM
Meeting Place: 
Assembly Room, City Council Building, 1000 Lindsay Street

Municipal Data

Charter: 
Home Rule - 1972
Date of Incorporation: 
11/01/1839
Charter File: 
Incorporation Act: 
Private Acts 1839-40, ch. 32, p. 57
Previous Charter Citations: 
Private Acts 1851-52, ch. 13, p. 15; Private Acts 1866-67, ch. 8, Sec. 8, p. 22; Private Acts 1911, ch. 10, p. 31; Private Acts 1945, ch. 271, p. 890; Private Acts 1969, ch. 82, p. 348

Governing Body and Staff

Governing Body
Mayor Mr. Tim Kelly (423) 643-7800
mayor@chattanooga.gov
Councilmember Ms. Carol Berz (423) 643-7170
cberz@chattanooga.gov
Councilmember Ms. Demetrus Coonrod (423) 643-7170
dcoonrod@chattanooga.gov
Councilmember Ms. Raquetta Dotley (423) 643-7180
rdotley@chattanooga.gov
Councilmember Mr. Chip Henderson (423) 643-7170
cchenderson@chattanooga.gov
Councilmember Mr. Isiah Hester (423) 643-7183
ihester@chattanooga.gov
Councilmember Ms. Jenny Hill (423) 643-7187
jhill@chattanooga.gov
Councilmember Mr. Darrin Ledford (423) 643-7170
dledford@chattanooga.gov
Councilmember Ms. Marvene Noel (423) 643-7182
mnoel@chattanooga.gov
Councilmember Mr. Ken Smith (423) 643-7170
kensmith@chattanooga.gov
Staff
Chief Human Resources Officer Ms. Mande Lawrence (423) 643-7203
alawrence@chattanooga.gov
Chief Information Officer Mr. Tyson Morris (423) 643-6300
tmorris@chattanooga.gov
Chief of Staff Mr. Joda Thongnopnua (423) 643-7800
jthongnopnua@chattanooga.gov
City Clerk Ms. Nicole Gwyn (423) 643-7170
nsgwyn@chattanooga.gov
City Court Clerk Mr. Anthony Byrd (423) 643-7170
abyrd@chattanooga.gov
City Engineer Mr. William C. Payne (423) 643-6160
bpayne@chattanooga.gov
City Judge Mr. Russell Bean (423) 643-7571
jbean@chattanooga.gov
City Judge Ms. Sherry Paty (423) 643-7569
spaty@chattanooga.gov
Communications Director Ms. Kristen Yates (423) 643-7800
kyates@chattanooga.gov
Director of City-Wide Services Mr. Ricky Colston (423) 643-6828
rcolston@chattanooga.gov
Director of Wastewater Resources Mr. Jeffrey Rose (423) 643-7498
jarose@chattanooga.gov
Executive Director RPA Mr. Dan Reuter (423) 643-5900
dreuter@chattanooga.gov
Finance Officer Mr. Brent Goldberg (423) 643-7363
bgoldberg@chattanooga.gov
Fire Chief Mr. Philip Hyman (423) 643-5601
phyman@chattanooga.gov
Library Director Ms. Corrine Hill (423) 643-7700
chill@lib.chattanooga.gov
Manager of Community Development Ms. Sandra Gober (423) 643-7300
sgober@chattanooga.gov
Police Chief Ms. Celeste Murphy (423) 643-5011

MTAS Consultants

Fire: Steve Cross (615) 532-7108
Finance: Brad Harris (423) 718-0797
HR: Betsy Cunningham (865) 974-6689
Mgmt: Honna Rogers (423) 756-3925
Police: Rex Barton (423) 506-0402
PW: VACANT (865) 974-0411
Training: Johanna Owenby (865) 974-9858

*Population figure provided by the State of Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development, Center for Economic Research in Tennessee (CERT) and updated annually.