Skip to main content

City of Brownsville ( Haywood )

111 North Washington, P.O. Box 449
Brownsville, TN 38012
(731) 772-1212
Fax:(731) 772-1275
http://www.brownsvilletn.gov

General Information

Office Hours: 
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

Utilities

City Utilities: 
Electric
Garbage
Gas
Water

Municipal Statistics

County: 
Haywood
2020 Population
Next Election:
06-20-2022
Number of Employees: 
133
Grand Division: 
West
2010 Population
Time Zone: 
Central

Meeting Information

Meeting Day: 
2nd Tuesday
Meeting Time: 
5:30 PM
Meeting Place: 
City Hall

Municipal Data

Charter: 
Private Acts 1994, ch. 124, p. 32
Date of Incorporation: 
11/01/1870
Charter File: 
Incorporation Act: 
Private Acts 1869-70, ch. 64, sec. 84, p. 455
Previous Charter Citations: 
Private Acts 1903, ch. 174, p. 384; Private Acts 1925, ch. 92, p. 276; Private Acts 1943, ch. 398, p. 1344; Private Acts 1991, ch. 76, p. 148

Governing Body and Staff

Governing Body
Mayor Mr. William "Bill" Rawls, Jr. (731) 772-1212
wrawls@brownsvilletn.gov
Vice Mayor Ms. Carolyn Flagg (731) 772-1212
cflagg@brownsvilletn.org
Alderman Mr. Travis Pugh (731) 772-1212
Alderman Mr. John Simmons (731) 772-1212
Alderman Mr. Antwan Taylor (731) 772-1212
ataylor@brownsvilletn.gov
Staff
Building Official Mr. Jerry McClinton (731) 772-1212
mcclinton@brownsvilletn.gov
City Clerk Mrs. Sherry Batchelor (731) 772-1212
sbatchelor@brownsvilletn.gov
City Court Clerk Ms. Carolyn Joyner (731) 772-1260
cjoyner@brownsvilletn.gov
City Judge, City Attorney Mr. James S. Haywood, Jr. (731) 772-9127
Code Enforcement Officer Mr. Colton Lilly (731) 772-1212
clilly@brownsvilletn.org
Emergency Management Director Mr. Mak Covington (731) 772-1212
bhcema@brownsvilletn.gov
Fire Chief Mr. David Smith (731) 772-1212
dsmith@brownsvilletn.gov
Information Technology Specialist Mr. Darron Byrd (731) 772-1432
jdbyrd@brownsvilletn.gov
Parks and Recreation Director Ms. Undrea Johnson (731) 772-6693
ujohnson@brownsvilletn.gov
Police Chief Mr. Barry Diebold (731) 772-1260
bdiebold@brownsvilletn.org
Public Works Director Mr. David Turner (731) 722-1212
dturner@brownsvilletn.gov
Utility Manager Mr. Regie Castellaw (731) 772-8845

MTAS Consultants

Fire: Dennis Wolf (901) 579-9247
Finance: Kay Stegall (731) 641-4157
HR: Peter Voss (731) 425-4781
Mgmt: Ronnie Neill (901) 412-2121
Police: David Moore (731) 327-6387
PW: John Chlarson (731) 425-4785
Training: Yolanda Dillard (901) 410-5386

*Population figure provided by the State of Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development, Center for Economic Research in Tennessee (CERT) and updated annually.