Skip to main content

City of Bristol ( Sullivan )

Municipal Building
Bristol, TN 37621-1189
(423) 989-5500
Fax:(423) 989-5506
http://www.bristoltn.org

General Information

Office Hours: 
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Utilities

City Utilities: 
Electric
Garbage
Sewer
Water

Municipal Statistics

County: 
Sullivan
2020 Population
Next Election:
05-07-2019
Number of Employees: 
350
Grand Division: 
East
2010 Population
Time Zone: 
Eastern

Meeting Information

Meeting Day: 
1st Tuesday
Meeting Time: 
7:00 PM
Meeting Place: 
325 McDowell Street

Municipal Data

Charter: 
Private Acts 1991, ch. 84, p.188
Date of Incorporation: 
11/01/1856
Charter File: 
Incorporation Act: 
Acts 1855-56, ch. 119, sec 11, p. 138
Previous Charter Citations: 
Private Acts 1907, ch. 180, p. 524; Private Acts 1913, ch. 296, p. 972; Private Acts 1971, ch. 80, p. 304; Private Acts 1986, ch. 179, p. 191

Governing Body and Staff

Governing Body
Mayor Mr. Mahlon Luttrell (423) 989-5545
mluttrell@bristoltn.org
Vice Mayor Mr. Vince Turner (423) 989-5545
vturner@bristoltn.org
Councilmember Ms. Margaret Feierabend (423) 989-5500
mfeierabend@bristoltn.org
Councilmember Mr. Chad Keen (423) 989-5545
ckeen@bristoltn.org
Councilmember Ms. Lea Powers (423) 989-5545
lpowers@bristoltn.org
Staff
Building Official Ms. Sherry Stover (423) 989-5709
sstover@bristoltn.org
City Court Clerk Ms. Kristi Hensley (423) 989-5500 Ext. 2034
khensley@bristoltn.org
City Engineer Mr. Jacob Chandler (423) 989-5500
jchandler@bristoltn.org
City Judge Mr. A.D. Jones (423) 989-5563
City Manager Mr. Bill Sorah (423) 989-5501
bsorah@bristoltn.org
City Recorder, Finance Director VACANT
Code Administrator Mr. Matt Bailey (423) 989-5659
mebailey@bristoltn.org
Community Relations Director Mr. Jon Luttrell (423) 764-4171
jluttrell@bristoltn.org
Development Services Director Mr. Tim Beavers (423) 989-5500
tbeavers@bristoltn.org
Executive Secretary Ms. Velma Witte (423) 989-5503
vwitte@bristoltn.org
Fire Chief Mr. Mike Carrier (423) 989-5701
mcarrier@bristoltn.org
Human Resources Director Ms. Mary Lee Williams (423) 989-5526
mlwilliams@bristoltn.org
Information Technology Manager Mr. Greg Cross (423) 989-5500
gcross@bristoltn.org
Parks and Recreation Director Mr. Terry Napier (423) 764-4023
tnapier@bristoltn.org
Police Chief Mr. Blaine Wade (423) 989-5600
bwade@bristoltn.org
Senior Information Technology Manager Mr. Shane Varney (423) 989-5500
svarney@bristoltn.org
Utility Services Director Mr. Will Witcher (423) 989-5566
wwitcher@bristoltn.org
Attorney
City Attorney Ms. Danielle Smith (423) 989-3407

MTAS Consultants

Fire: Steve Cross (615) 532-7108
Finance: Travis Bishop (423) 435-9662
HR: Betsy Cunningham (865) 974-6689
Mgmt: Pat Hardy (423) 854-9882
Police: Rex Barton (423) 506-0402
PW: Sharon Rollins (865) 974-0416
Training: Johanna Owenby (865) 974-9858

*Population figure provided by the State of Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development, Center for Economic Research in Tennessee (CERT) and updated annually.