What can we help you find today?

Athens

City of Athens ( McMinn )

815 North Jackson Street
Athens, TN 37303
(423) 744-2700
Fax: 
(423) 744-8866

General Information

Office Hours: 
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Utilities

Municipal Statistics

County: 
McMinn
2019 Population
Election Date:
11-08-2022
Number of Employees: 
118
Grand Division: 
East
2010 Population
Time Zone: 
Eastern

Meeting Information

Meeting Day: 
3rd Tuesday

Meeting Time: 
6:00 PM

Meeting Place: 
Municipal Building

Municipal Data

Charter: 
Private Acts 1953, ch. 455

Date of Incorporation: 
11/01/1870

Charter File: 

Governing Body and Staff

Staff
Assistant to the City Manager Mr. James Gallup (423) 744-2780
jgallup@athenstn.gov
Building Inspector Mr. Gene McConkey (423) 744-2752
gmcconkey@athenstn.gov
City Clerk Ms. Leslie McKee (423) 744-2702
admin@athenstn.gov
City Court Clerk Ms. Amy Arnwine (423) 744-2731
police@athenstn.gov
City Judge Mr. Derek Green (423) 744-2731
police@athenstn.gov
City Manager Mr. C. Seth Sumner (423) 744-2702
citymanager@athenstn.gov
Code Enforcement Officer Ms. Nora Cardin (423) 744-2754
ncardin@athenstn.gov
Code Enforcement Officer Mr. Matthew Gravley (423) 744-2751
mgravley@athenstn.gov
Community Development Director, Planning Director Mr. Anthony Casteel (423) 744-2750
acasteel@athenstn.gov
Director of Schools Dr. Melanie Miller (423) 745-2863
mmiller@athensk8.net
Finance Director Mr. Michael Keith (423) 744-2712
mkeith@athenstn.gov
Fire Chief Mr. Brandon Ainsworth (423) 744-2760
bainsworth@athenstn.gov
Human Resources Director Ms. Nina Edmonds (423) 744-2703
nedmonds@athenstn.gov
Parks and Recreation Director Mr. Austin Fesmire (423) 744-2706
afesmire@athenstn.gov
Police Chief Mr. Clifton "Cliff" Couch (423) 744-2730
Public Works Director Mr. Ben Burchfield (423) 744-2769
bburchfield@athenstn.gov
Records Clerk Ms. Amber Cross (423) 744-2730
crossa@athenstn.gov
Street Superintendent Ms. April Johnston (423) 744-2778
ajohnston@athenstn.gov
Technology Manager Mr. Steven Cross (423) 744-2722
scross@athenstn.gov
Utility Manager Mr. Eric Newberry (423) 745-4501
enewberry@aub.org
Attorney
City Attorney Mr. Chris Trew (423) 745-3573
chris1@hbctlo.com

MTAS Consultants

Mgmt:
Angie Carrier (865) 974-9063
Finance:
Brad Harris (423) 718-0797
HR:
Betsy Cunningham (865) 974-6689
Police:
Rex Barton (423) 506-0402
Fire:
Steve Cross (615) 532-7108
PW:
Sharon Rollins (865) 974-0416

*Population figure provided by the State of Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development, Center for Economic Research in Tennessee (CERT) and updated annually.

Staff
Assistant to the City Manager Mr. James Gallup (423) 744-2780
jgallup@athenstn.gov
Building Inspector Mr. Gene McConkey (423) 744-2752
gmcconkey@athenstn.gov
City Clerk Ms. Leslie McKee (423) 744-2702
admin@athenstn.gov
City Court Clerk Ms. Amy Arnwine (423) 744-2731
police@athenstn.gov
City Judge Mr. Derek Green (423) 744-2731
police@athenstn.gov
City Manager Mr. C. Seth Sumner (423) 744-2702
citymanager@athenstn.gov
Code Enforcement Officer Ms. Nora Cardin (423) 744-2754
ncardin@athenstn.gov
Code Enforcement Officer Mr. Matthew Gravley (423) 744-2751
mgravley@athenstn.gov
Community Development Director, Planning Director Mr. Anthony Casteel (423) 744-2750
acasteel@athenstn.gov
Director of Schools Dr. Melanie Miller (423) 745-2863
mmiller@athensk8.net
Finance Director Mr. Michael Keith (423) 744-2712
mkeith@athenstn.gov
Fire Chief Mr. Brandon Ainsworth (423) 744-2760
bainsworth@athenstn.gov
Human Resources Director Ms. Nina Edmonds (423) 744-2703
nedmonds@athenstn.gov
Parks and Recreation Director Mr. Austin Fesmire (423) 744-2706
afesmire@athenstn.gov
Police Chief Mr. Clifton "Cliff" Couch (423) 744-2730
Public Works Director Mr. Ben Burchfield (423) 744-2769
bburchfield@athenstn.gov
Records Clerk Ms. Amber Cross (423) 744-2730
crossa@athenstn.gov
Street Superintendent Ms. April Johnston (423) 744-2778
ajohnston@athenstn.gov
Technology Manager Mr. Steven Cross (423) 744-2722
scross@athenstn.gov
Utility Manager Mr. Eric Newberry (423) 745-4501
enewberry@aub.org
Attorney
City Attorney Mr. Chris Trew (423) 745-3573
chris1@hbctlo.com

Our Information

Information in a city or town profile is provided by each municipality.

Click on the name of an individual to access their mailing address.

Updating Individuals

Is there a municipal official or staff member who needs to be updated? Click on the individual's name to submit changes.

Updating City Stats

Do you see information about the municipal data that needs to be updated? If so, click on the button below to submit changes.

Municipal Stats