Skip to main content

City of Athens ( McMinn )

815 North Jackson Street
Athens, TN 37303
(423) 744-2700
Fax:(423) 744-8866
https://www.athenstn.gov/

General Information

Office Hours: 
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Utilities

Municipal Statistics

County: 
McMinn
2020 Population
Next Election:
11-08-2022
Number of Employees: 
121
Grand Division: 
East
2010 Population
Time Zone: 
Eastern

Meeting Information

Meeting Day: 
3rd Tuesday
Meeting Time: 
6:00 PM
Meeting Place: 
Municipal Building

Municipal Data

Charter: 
Private Acts 1953, ch. 455
Date of Incorporation: 
11/01/1870
Charter File: 
Incorporation Act: 
Private Acts 1869-70, ch. 69, sec. 39, p. 500
Previous Charter Citations: 
Private Acts 1903, ch. 316, p. 923

Governing Body and Staff

Staff
Assistant to the City Manager Mr. James Gallup (423) 744-2780
jgallup@athenstn.gov
Building Inspector Mr. Gene McConkey (423) 744-2752
gmcconkey@athenstn.gov
City Clerk Ms. Leslie McKee (423) 744-2702
admin@athenstn.gov
City Court Clerk Ms. Amber Harrell (423) 744-2731
aharrell@athenstn.gov
City Judge Mr. Derek Green (423) 744-2731
police@athenstn.gov
City Manager Mr. C. Seth Sumner (423) 744-2702
citymanager@athenstn.gov
Code Enforcement Officer Ms. Nora Cardin (423) 744-2754
ncardin@athenstn.gov
Code Enforcement Officer Mr. Matthew Gravley (423) 744-2751
mgravley@athenstn.gov
Community Development Director, Planning Director Mr. Anthony Casteel (423) 744-2750
acasteel@athenstn.gov
Director of Schools Mr. Robert Greene (423) 745-2863
rgreene@athensk8.net
Finance Director Mr. Michael "Mike" Keith (423) 744-2712
mkeith@athenstn.gov
Fire Chief Mr. Brandon Ainsworth (423) 744-2760
bainsworth@athenstn.gov
Human Resources Director Ms. Nina Edmonds (423) 744-2703
nedmonds@athenstn.gov
Interim Police Chief Mr. Fred Schultz (423) 744-2730
Parks and Recreation Director Mr. Austin Fesmire (423) 744-2706
afesmire@athenstn.gov
Public Works Director Mr. Ben Burchfield (423) 744-2769
bburchfield@athenstn.gov
Records Clerk Ms. Ashley Kincannon (423) 744-2730
kincaa@athenstn.gov
Street Superintendent Ms. April Johnston (423) 744-2778
ajohnston@athenstn.gov
Technology Manager Mr. Steven Croft (423) 744-2722
scroft@athenstn.gov
Utility Manager Mr. Eric Newberry (423) 745-4501
enewberry@aub.org
Attorney
City Attorney Mr. Chris Trew (423) 745-3573
chris1@hbctlo.com

MTAS Consultants

Fire: Steve Cross (615) 532-7108
Finance: Brad Harris (423) 718-0797
HR: Betsy Cunningham (865) 974-6689
Mgmt: Angie Carrier (865) 974-9063
Police: Rex Barton (423) 506-0402
PW: Sharon Rollins (865) 974-0416
Training: Johanna Owenby (865) 974-9858

*Population figure provided by the State of Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development, Center for Economic Research in Tennessee (CERT) and updated annually.