What can we help you find today?

Athens

City of Athens ( McMinn )

815 North Jackson Street
Athens, TN 37303
(423) 744-2702
Fax: 
(423) 744-8866

General Information

Office Hours: 
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Utilities

Municipal Statistics

County: 
McMinn
2017 Population
Election Date:
11-06-2018
Number of Employees: 
111
Grand Division: 
East
2010 Population
Time Zone: 
Eastern

Governing Body

Meeting Day: 
3rd Tuesday

Meeting Time: 
6:00 PM

Meeting Place: 
Municipal Building

Municipal Data

Charter: 
Private Acts 1953, ch. 455

Date of Incorporation: 
11/01/1870

Link to Charter: 

MTAS Consultants

Mgmt:
Angie Carrier (865) 974-9063
Finance:
Brad Harris (423) 718-0797
HR:
John Grubbs (615) 532-2588
Police:
Rex Barton (423) 506-0402

 

View Governing Body and Staff

*Population figure provided by the State of Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development, Center for Economic Research in Tennessee (CERT) and updated annually.

Governing Body
Mayor Mr. Chuck T. Burris (423) 744-2702
cburris@cityofathenstn.com
Vice Mayor Dr. Dick Pelley (423) 744-2702
dpelley@cityofathenstn.com
Councilmember Mr. William B. Perkinson (423) 744-2702
bperkinson@cityofathenstn.com
Councilmember Ms. Yvonne Raper (423) 744-2702
yraper@cityofathenstn.com
Councilmember Mr. John Coker (423) 744-2702
Staff
Building Inspector Mr. Matthew Gravley (423) 744-2752
City Clerk Ms. Leslie McKee (423) 744-2702
admin@cityofathenstn.com
City Court Clerk Ms. Amy Arnwine (423) 744-2731
police@cityofathenstn.com
City Judge Judge Trey Winder (423) 744-2731
police@cityofathenstn.com
City Manager Mr. C. Seth Sumner (423) 744-2702
citymanager@cityofathenstn.com
Code Enforcement Officer Ms. Gayle Petitt (423) 744-2751
gpetitt@cityofathenstn.com
Community Development Director, Planning Director Mr. Anthony Casteel (423) 744-2750
acasteel@cityofathenstn.com
Director of Schools Dr. Melanie Miller (423) 745-2863
melaniemiller@k12tn.net
Finance Director Mr. Michael Keith (423) 744-2712
mkeith@cityofathenstn.com
Fire Chief Chief James B. Dyer (423) 744-2760
jdyer@cityofathenstn.com
Human Resources Director Ms. Nina Edmonds (423) 744-2703
Interim Public Works Director, Street Superintendent Ms. April Johnston (423) 744-2778
Parks and Recreation Director Mr. Austin Fesmire (423) 744-2706
afesmire@cityofathenstn.com
Planning Director, Community Development Director Mr. Anthony Casteel (423) 744-2750
acasteel@cityofathenstn.com
Police Chief Chief Clifton "Cliff" Couch (423) 744-2729
Records Clerk Ms. Amber Cross (423) 744-2730
crossa@cityofathenstn.com
Street Superintendent, Interim Public Works Director Ms. April Johnston (423) 744-2778
Utility Manager Mr. Eric Newberry (423) 745-4501
enewberry@aub.org
Wastewater Manager, Water Manager Ms. Jill Davis (423) 745-4501
jdavis@aub.org
Water Manager, Wastewater Manager Ms. Jill Davis (423) 745-4501
jdavis@aub.org
Attorney
City Attorney Mr. Chris Trew (423) 745-3573
chris1@hbctlo.com

Do you see information that needs to be updated? If so, please submit your changes to our administrator!

Request Update