TITLE 11

PLANNING AND ZONING

CHAPTER

1. MUNICIPAL PLANNING COMMISSION.

CHAPTER 1

MUNICIPAL PLANNING COMMISSION

SECTION

- 11-101. Creation and membership.
- 11-102. Organization, powers, duties, etc.
- 11-101. <u>Creation and membership</u>. Pursuant to the provisions of section 13-4-101 of the <u>Tennessee Code Annotated</u> there is hereby created a municipal planning commission, hereinafter referred to as the planning commission. The planning commission shall consist of five (5) members; two (2) of these shall be the mayor and another member of the board of commissioners selected by the board of commissioners; the other three (3) members shall be appointed by the mayor. All members of the planning commission shall serve as such without compensation. Except for the initial appointments, the terms of the three (3) members appointed by the mayor shall be for three (3) years each. The three (3) members first appointed shall be appointed for terms of one (1), two (2), and three (3) years respectively so that the term of one (1) member expires each year. The terms of the mayor and the member selected by the board of commissioners shall run concurrently with their terms of office. Any vacancy in an appointive membership shall be filled for the unexpired term by the mayor.
- 11-102. <u>Organization</u>, powers, duties, etc. The planning commission shall be organized and shall carry out its powers, functions, and duties in accordance with all applicable provisions of title 13, <u>Tennessee Code Annotated</u>.