Municipal Technical Advisory Service - City Information

Town of Newbern (Dyer County)

P. O. Box 460
Newbern, TN 38059
Phone: (731) 627-3221
Fax: (731) 627-9228
City URL:
City Email Address:

Governing Body
Meets: 3rd Tuesday
Time: 7:00 PM
Place: Town Hall
Office Hours
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

Charter for Town of Newbern
Municipal Data
Municipal Court: Yes
2017 Population (Certified by TNECD): 3,313
Election Date: 11/06/2018
Grand Division: West
# of Employees: 65
2010 Population: 3,313
Square Miles: 3.7
Time Zone: Central
MTAS Management Consultant
Dana Deem
City: All services
City Data
County Seat: No
Charter Form: Private Acts 1901, ch. 450, p. 1076
Year of Incorporation: 1858
Incorporation Act: Private Acts 1857-58, ch. 74, sec. 18, p. 165
Previous Citations: Public Acts 1887, ch. 224, p. 371
City Officials

Mayor - Justin Wright
Vice Mayor - Bradley Rogers
Alderman - Robert Hart
Alderman - Kirby Ogden
Alderman - Pam Mabry
Alderman - Daniel Watson
Alderman - Preston French
City Attorney - John Lannom
City Court Clerk - Jason G. Roberts
City Judge - Jason Creasy
City Recorder - Jason G. Roberts
Electric Department Director - Sandy Hill
Emergency Management Director - Jimmy Richards
Fire Chief - Phillip Cottrell
Gas Supervisor - Casey King
Library Director - Janice Peevyhouse
Police Chief - Richard Barnes
Public Works Director - Sandy Hill
Street Superintendent - D.J. Peery
Treasurer - Jason G. Roberts
Water Manager - Casey King

MTAS: Promoting better city government through direct assistance to city officials and their associations