Municipal Technical Advisory Service - City Information

City of Piperton (Fayette County)

3725 Highway 196 Suite B
Piperton, TN 38017
Phone: (901) 853-4830
Fax: (901) 854-8396
City URL:
City Email Address:

Governing Body
Meets: 3rd Tuesday
Time: 7:00 PM
Place: City Hall
Office Hours
Mon-Fri 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM

Charter for City of Piperton
Municipal Data
Municipal Court: Yes
2017 Population (Certified by TNECD): 1,632
Election Date: 11/06/2018
Grand Division: West
# of Employees: 29
2010 Population: 1,445
Square Miles: 26.95
Time Zone: Central
MTAS Management Consultant
David Angerer
City: Water, Garbage
Other: Gas
City Data
County Seat: No
Charter Form: General Law Manager-Commission (TCA 6-18-101 et seq.)
Year of Incorporation: 1974
Incorporation Act: General Law Manager-Commission (TCA 6-18-101 et seq.), 1974
Previous Citations:
City Officials

Mayor - Henry Coats
Vice Mayor - Mike Binkley
Commissioner - Preston Trotter
Commissioner - Neil Taylor
Commissioner - Hugh Davis, Jr.
Assistant City Court Clerk - Marcy Rose
Building Inspector - Tommie Johnson
City Attorney - Gerald D. Lawson, Jr.
City Court Clerk - Angela D. Kerby
City Manager - Stephen Steinbach
City Planner - Brett Morgan
City Recorder - Beverly Holloway
Finance Director - Maria George
Fire Chief - Reed Bullock
Police Chief - Phil Hendricks

MTAS: Promoting better city government through direct assistance to city officials and their associations