Municipal Technical Advisory Service - City Information

Town of Sneedville (Hancock County)

Jail Street
P. O. Box 377
Sneedville, TN 37869
Phone: (423) 733-2254
Fax: (423) 733-4112
City Email Address:

Governing Body
Meets: 2nd Tuesday
Time: 7:00 PM
Place: Town Hall
Office Hours
Mon, Tue, Thu, Fri 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM (Closed Wed)

Charter for Town of Sneedville
Municipal Data
Municipal Court: Yes
2017 Population (Certified by TNECD): 1,387
Election Date: 05/08/2018
Grand Division: East
# of Employees: 12
2010 Population: 1,387
Square Miles: 2.2
Time Zone: Eastern
MTAS Management Consultant
W. Patrick Hardy
City: Sewer, Garbage
Other: Electric, Water
City Data
County Seat: Yes
Charter Form: General Law Mayor-Aldermanic (TCA 6-1-101 et seq.)
Year of Incorporation: 1850
Incorporation Act: Private Acts 1859-50, ch. 17, p. 37
Previous Citations: General Law Mayor-Aldermanic (TCA 6-1-101 et seq.), 1953
City Officials

Mayor - William Riley
Vice Mayor - Scott Shipley
Alderman - Pat Riley
Alderman - Janet Cose
Alderman - Matthew Waddell
Alderman - John Mullins
Alderman - Michael Gibson
City Attorney - Floyd W. Rhea
City Court Clerk - Patricia Collins Johnson
City Judge - Patricia Collins Johnson
City Recorder - Gail Collins
Fire Chief - John Mullins
Solid Waste Manager - Jacky Johnson
Street Superintendent - Junior Lee Johnson
Wastewater Manager - Jesse Thompson

MTAS: Promoting better city government through direct assistance to city officials and their associations