Municipal Technical Advisory Service - City Information

City of Covington (Tipton County)

200 West Washington Ave.
P. O. Box 768
Covington, TN 38019-0768
Phone: (901) 476-9613
Fax: (901) 476-6699
City URL:
City Email Address:

Governing Body
Meets: 2nd and 4th Tuesday
Time: 5:30 PM
Place: City Hall
Office Hours
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Charter for City of Covington
Municipal Data
Municipal Court: Yes
2013 Population (Certified by TNECD): 9,038
Election Date: 11/08/2016
Grand Division: West
# of Employees: 147
2010 Population: 9,038
Square Miles: 9.7
Time Zone: Central
MTAS Management Consultant
Ronnie Neill
City: All services
City Data
County Seat: Yes
Charter Form: Private Acts 2006, ch. 132
Year of Incorporation: 1826
Incorporation Act: Private Acts 1903, ch. 322, p. 954
Previous Citations:
City Officials

Mayor - Justin Hanson
Vice Mayor - Wayne G. McGowan III
Alderman - C.H. Sullivan
Alderman - Jere Hadley
Alderman - Drew Glass
Alderman - John E. Edwards
Alderwoman - Minnie Bommer
Assistant to the Mayor - Marianne Dunavant
Building Inspector - Lessie Fisher
City Attorney - T. D. Forrester
City Court Clerk - Carolyn Scott
City Judge - Elizabeth B. Ziarko
City Recorder - Tina Dunn
Code Enforcement Director - Lessie Fisher
Emergency Management Director - Tommy Dunavant
Fire Chief - Michael Naifeh
Human Resources Director - Tiny Barton
Library Director - Susan Cheairs
Parks and Recreation Director - Amy Payne
Police Chief - Buddy Lewis
Public Works Director - VACANT
Sanitation Superintendent - Tim Fayne
Street Superintendent - Danny Brown
Treasurer - Tina Dunn
Utility Manager - David Gray
Water Manager - Harvey Wilson

MTAS: Promoting better city government through direct assistance to city officials and their associations