Municipal Technical Advisory Service - City Information

Town of Smyrna (Rutherford County)

315 South Lowry Street
Smyrna, TN 37167
Phone: (615) 459-2553
Fax: (615) 355-5715
City URL:
City Email Address:

Governing Body
Meets: 2nd Tuesday
Time: 5:00 p.m.
Place: Town Hall
Office Hours
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

Charter for Town of Smyrna
Municipal Data
Municipal Court: Yes
2017 Population (Certified by TNECD): 47,521
Election Date: 11/06/2018
Grand Division: Middle
# of Employees: 429
2010 Population: 39,974
Square Miles: 22.7
Time Zone: Central
MTAS Management Consultant
Jeff Broughton
City: Water, Gas, Sewer
Other: Electric, Garbage
City Data
County Seat: No
Charter Form: Private Acts 2000, ch. 68, p. 213
Year of Incorporation: 1869
Incorporation Act: Private Acts 1869-70, ch. 23, sec. 19, p. 218
Previous Citations:
City Officials

Mayor - Mary Esther Reed
Vice Mayor - Marc Adkins
City Clerk - Dianne Waldron
City Court Clerk - Brittany Stevens
City Judge - Lynn England Alexander
City Manager - Harry Gill, Jr.
Codes Manager - Steve Smith
Councilmember - Tim Morrell
Councilmember - Steve Sullivan
Councilmember - Lori North
Councilmember - H.G. Cole
Councilmember - Racquel Peebles
Executive Assistant - Tiffany Lawson
Finance Director - Rex Gaither
Fire Chief - Bill Culbertson
Human Resources Director - Jeff Craig
Information Services Manager - Robert Kulp
Parks and Recreation Director - Mike Moss
Planning Manager - Kevin Rigsby
Police Chief - Kevin Arnold
Public Works Director - Tom Rose
Town Attorney - Jeff Peach
Treasurer - Dianne Waldron
Utilities Director - Michael Strange

MTAS: Promoting better city government through direct assistance to city officials and their associations