Municipal Technical Advisory Service - City Information

City of Sweetwater (McMinn, Monroe Counties)

P. O. Box 267
203 Monroe Street
Sweetwater, TN 37874
Phone: (423) 337-6979
Fax: (423) 337-9663
City URL:
City Email Address:

Governing Body
Meets: 1st Monday
Time: 5:00 PM
Place: City Hall
Office Hours
Mon-Fri 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM

Charter for City of Sweetwater
Municipal Data
Municipal Court: Yes
2017 Population (Certified by TNECD): 6,010
Election Date: 06/12/2018
Grand Division: East
# of Employees: 54
2010 Population: 5,764
Square Miles: 6.7
Time Zone: Eastern
MTAS Management Consultant
To Be Hired
City: Water, Gas, Sewer, Electric
Other: Garbage
City Data
County Seat: No
Charter Form: Home Rule - 1958
Year of Incorporation: 1901
Incorporation Act: Private Acts 1901, ch. 258, p. 557
Previous Citations:
City Officials

Mayor - Doyle F. Lowe
Vice Mayor - Billy G. West
Commissioner - Lamar Hughes
Commissioner - Bill W. Stockton
Commissioner - Sam Moser
Commissioner - Julian Walton
Commissioner - Edward Lee
Assistant City Recorder - Sonya Crush
City Attorney - John Cleveland
City Clerk - Shannon B. Creasman
City Court Clerk - Shannon B. Creasman
City Judge - Peter Alliman
City Recorder - Jessica Morgan
Code Enforcement Officer - Scott Wilson
Director of Schools - Rodney Boruff
Economic Development Board Chairman - John Seiler
Fire Chief - Doug Watson
Library Director - Tania Rich
Parks and Recreation Director - Tim Crawford
Police Chief - Eddie Byrum
Street Superintendent - Richard Jenkins
Utility Manager - Eric Hicks

MTAS: Promoting better city government through direct assistance to city officials and their associations