Municipal Technical Advisory Service - City Information

City of Etowah (McMinn County)

723 Ohio Avenue
Etowah, TN 37331-1345
Phone: (423) 263-2202
Fax: (423) 263-3184
City URL:
City Email Address:

Governing Body
Meets: 4th Monday
Time: 6:30 PM
Place: City Hall
Office Hours
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

Charter for City of Etowah
Municipal Data
Municipal Court: Yes
2013 Population (Certified by ECD): 3,490
Election Date: 08/02/2014
Grand Division: East
# of Employees: 35
2010 Population: 3,490
Square Miles: 2.9
Time Zone: Eastern
MTAS Management Consultant
Margaret Norris
City: All services
City Data
County Seat: No
Charter Form: Home Rule - 1964
Date of Incorporation: 12/01/1909
Incorporation Act: Private Acts 1909, ch. 116, p. 366
Previous Citations:
City Officials

Mayor - Jim Bull
Commissioner - Jim Swayne
Commissioner - E. Burke Garwood, III
Commissioner - Dennis Morgan
Commissioner - Charles Slack
Building & Codes Director - David W. Mason
City Attorney - Russell J. Blair
City Court Clerk - Leah Tavernese
City Judge - E. L. Parker
City Manager - Matthew Gravley
City Recorder - Rebecca Penney
Finance Director - Rebecca Penney
Fire Chief - Mike Moore
Human Resources Director - Eva Valentine
Library Director - Lorie Waters
Parks and Recreation Manager - Brian Silber
Police Chief - Eric Armstrong
Public Works Director - Billy Ingram
School Superintendent - Mike Frasier
Utility Manager - Brian Solsbee

MTAS: Promoting better city government through direct assistance to city officials and their associations