Municipal Technical Advisory Service - City Information

City of Watauga (Carter, Washington Counties)

103 4th Avenue
P. O. Box 68
Watauga, TN 37694-0068
Phone: (423) 928-3490
Fax: (423) 928-3490
City Email Address:

Governing Body
Meets: 3rd Thursday
Time: 7:00 PM
Place: City Hall
Office Hours
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 1:00 PM

Charter for City of Watauga
Municipal Data
Municipal Court: Yes
2013 Population (Certified by TNECD): 458
Election Date: 11/08/2016
Grand Division: East
# of Employees: 9
2010 Population: 458
Square Miles: 0.7
Time Zone: Central
MTAS Management Consultant
W. Patrick Hardy
Other: Electric, Gas, Garbage, Water
City Data
County Seat: No
Charter Form: General Law Manager-Commission (TCA 6-18-101 et seq.)
Year of Incorporation: 1960
Incorporation Act: General Law Manager-Commission (TCA 6-18-101 et seq.), 1960
Previous Citations: General Law Manager-Commission (TCA 6-18-101 et seq.), 1960
City Officials

Mayor - Delissa Lafleur
Vice Mayor - Timothy Peer
Commissioner - Edith Smalling
Commissioner - Dennis Hicks
Commissioner - Mickey Fair
City Attorney - Keith Bowers
City Court Clerk - Ethel Wilhoit
City Judge - Richard B. Norris
City Manager - Hattie Skeans
City Recorder - Ethel Wilhoit
Police Chief - Charles Whaley

MTAS: Promoting better city government through direct assistance to city officials and their associations