Municipal Technical Advisory Service - City Information

City of Savannah (Hardin County)

140 Main Street
Savannah, TN 38372
Phone: (731) 925-3300
Fax: (731) 926-1130
City URL:
City Email Address:

Governing Body
Meets: 1st Thursday
Time: 7:00 PM
Place: City Hall
Office Hours
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Charter for City of Savannah
Municipal Data
Municipal Court: Yes
2017 Population (Certified by TNECD): 6,982
Election Date: 11/06/2018
Grand Division: West
# of Employees: 102
2010 Population: 6,982
Square Miles: 6.8
Time Zone: Central
MTAS Management Consultant
Ronnie Neill
City: Garbage, Gas, Sewer, Water
Other: Electric
City Data
County Seat: Yes
Charter Form: Private Acts 1951, ch. 683, p. 2028
Year of Incorporation: 1849
Incorporation Act: Acts 1849-50, ch. 209, p. 415
Previous Citations: Private Acts 1919, ch. 804, p. 2499; Private Acts 1937, ch. 197, p. 619
City Officials

Mayor - Robert E. Shutt
Vice Mayor - Wesley Wilkerson
Commissioner - Matthew Smith
Commissioner - David Carroll
Commissioner - Kent Collier
City Attorney - Dennis Plunk
City Court Clerk - Susan Cordova
City Court Clerk - Dyna Franks
City Judge - Nan Barlow
City Manager - Garry Welch
City Recorder - Brinn Parrish
Community Development Director - Roger Franks
Fire Chief - Steve Hudson
Historic Zoning Commission Coordinator - Roger Franks
Human Resources Director - Bobbie Matlock
Parks and Recreation Director - Larry L. Arendall
Police Chief - Charles Pitts
Project Manager - Tom Smith
Utility Manager - Virgil W. Morris
Wastewater Manager - Danny Gant
Water Manager - Danny Gant

MTAS: Promoting better city government through direct assistance to city officials and their associations