Municipal Technical Advisory Service - City Information

City of Dayton (Rhea County)

P. O. Box 226
399 First Avenue
Dayton, TN 37321
Phone: (423) 775-1817
Fax: (423) 775-8404
City URL:
City Email Address:

Governing Body
Meets: 1st Monday each month
Time: 5 min after school meeting (school mtg begins at 5:45 pm)
Place: Municipal Building
Office Hours
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Charter for City of Dayton
Municipal Data
Municipal Court: Yes
2017 Population (Certified by TNECD): 7,191
Election Date: 04/10/2018
Grand Division: East
# of Employees: 115
2010 Population: 7,191
Square Miles: 5.5
Time Zone: Eastern
MTAS Management Consultant
Warren Nevad
City: Water, Sewer, Garbage, Electric
Other: Gas
City Data
County Seat: Yes
Charter Form: Private Acts 1903, ch. 229, p. 499
Year of Incorporation: 1903
Incorporation Act: Private Acts 1903, ch. 229, p. 499
Previous Citations:
City Officials

Mayor - Gary Louallen
Vice Mayor - Steve Randolph
Administrative Assistant to the City Manager - Tammy Colvin
Bookkeeper - Kelly Boofer
Bookkeeper - Gina Rose
Bookkeeper - Lovonya Bonnie Daughtery
Bookkeeper - Vicki Massengill
City Attorney - Susan Arnold
City Court Clerk - Brandi McSpadden
City Judge - Andrew Tucker
City Manager - Tommy Solomon
City Recorder - Michelle Horton
Code Enforcement Officer - Ronnie Raper
Councilmember - James Lewis
Councilmember - Billy Graham
Councilmember - Bobby J. Doss
Electric Manager - Steve Clift
Fire Chief - Chuck Suttles
Human Resource Administrator - Tammy Vicry
Library Director - Kay Madewell
Parks and Recreation Director - David King
Police Chief - Chris Sneed
School Superintendent - Mike Latham
Street Superintendent - Kevin Swafford
Wastewater Manager - Glenn Fraley
Water Manager - Mike Patrick

MTAS: Promoting better city government through direct assistance to city officials and their associations