Municipal Technical Advisory Service - City Information

City of Sparta (White County)

6 Liberty Square
P. O. Box 30
Sparta, TN 38583
Phone: (931) 836-3248
Fax: (931) 836-3941
City URL:
City Email Address:

Governing Body
Meets: 1st and 3rd Thursday
Time: 5:00 PM
Place: City Hall
Office Hours
Mon-Fri 7:30 AM to 4:30 PM

Charter for City of Sparta
Municipal Data
Municipal Court: Yes
2017 Population (Certified by TNECD): 5,071
Election Date: 08/02/2018
Grand Division: Middle
# of Employees: 80
2010 Population: 4,925
Square Miles: 6.3
Time Zone: Central
MTAS Management Consultant
Warren Nevad
City: Water, Sewer, Garbage, Electric
Other: Gas
City Data
County Seat: Yes
Charter Form: Private Acts 1903, ch. 295, p. 865
Year of Incorporation: 1841
Incorporation Act: Acts 1841-42, ch. 30, p. 29
Previous Citations:
City Officials

Mayor - Jeff Young
Vice Mayor - Jim Floyd
Alderman - Jerry Lowery
Alderman - Chad Griffin
Alderman - Robert Officer
Alderman - Judy Payne
Alderman - Hoyt Jones
City Administrator - Chris Dorsey
City Attorney - Lynn Omohundro
City Clerk - Jennifer Roberts
City Court Clerk - Lorie Jeffries
City Judge - Gary Dodson
City Recorder - Tonya R. Tindle
Electric Director - H.L. England
Fire Chief - Kirk Young
Personnel Assistant - Lorie Jeffries
Police Chief - Jeff Guth
Public Works Director - Dillard Quick
Purchasing Clerk - Angie Wilhite

MTAS: Promoting better city government through direct assistance to city officials and their associations