Municipal Technical Advisory Service - City Information

Town of New Tazewell (Claiborne County)

P. O. Box 609
413 1st Avenue
New Tazewell, TN 37825
Phone: (423) 626-5242
Fax: (423) 626-2050
City URL:
City Email Address:

Governing Body
Meets: 2nd Tuesday
Time: 7:30 PM
Place: Town Hall
Office Hours
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

Charter for Town of New Tazewell
Municipal Data
Municipal Court: Yes
2017 Population (Certified by TNECD): 3,037
Election Date: 11/06/2018
Grand Division: East
# of Employees: 17
2010 Population: 3,037
Square Miles: 3.3
Time Zone: Eastern
MTAS Management Consultant
To Be Hired
City: Garbage
Other: Electric, Water, Sewer
City Data
County Seat: No
Charter Form: General Law Mayor-Aldermanic (TCA 6-1-101 et seq.)
Year of Incorporation: 1887
Incorporation Act: Public Acts 1887, ch. 87, p. 170
Previous Citations: Private Acts 1915, ch. 587, p. 1874, General Law Mayor-Aldermanic (TCA 6-1-101 et seq.), 1954
City Officials

Mayor - Jerry H. Beeler
Vice Mayor - Samuel "Andy" Duncan
Alderman - Stanley Leonard
Alderman - Charles Brooks
Alderman - Franklin Essary
Alderman - Charles DeBusk
Alderman - Jeff Lewis
Assistant City Court Clerk - Alyssa Large
Building Inspector - Jerry Hooper
City Attorney - James D. Estep, Jr.
City Court Clerk - Linda Stilson
City Recorder - Linda Stilson
Code Enforcement Officer - Jerry Hooper
Fire Chief - Josh Miracle
Police Chief - Ben Evans

MTAS: Promoting better city government through direct assistance to city officials and their associations