Municipal Technical Advisory Service - City Information

City of St. Joseph (Lawrence County)

409 North Main Street
P. O. Box 37
St. Joseph, TN 38481
Phone: (931) 845-4141
Fax: (931) 845-4131
City Email Address:

Governing Body
Meets: 1st and 3rd Tuesday
Time: 7:00 PM
Place: St. Joseph Civic Center
Office Hours
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM

Charter for City of St. Joseph
Municipal Data
Municipal Court: Yes
2017 Population (Certified by TNECD): 782
Election Date: 11/06/2018
Grand Division: Middle
# of Employees: 13
2010 Population: 782
Square Miles: 3
Time Zone: Central
MTAS Management Consultant
Jeff Broughton
City: Water, Gas
Other: Electric, Garbage
City Data
County Seat: No
Charter Form: General Law Manager-Commission (TCA 6-18-101 et seq.)
Year of Incorporation: 1919
Incorporation Act: Private Acts 1919, ch. 326, p. 816
Previous Citations: General Law Manager-Commission (TCA 6-18-101 et seq.), 1958
City Officials

Mayor - Bubba Carter
Vice Mayor - David Green
Commissioner - Beverly White
City Attorney - Paul Plant
City Court Clerk - Joan Nelson
City Judge - Paul Plant
City Manager - Joan Nelson
City Recorder/CMFO - Joan Nelson
Fire Chief - Tom Bottoms
Police Chief - Adam Brewer
Water Manager - Robert Cheatwood

MTAS: Promoting better city government through direct assistance to city officials and their associations