Municipal Technical Advisory Service - City Information

Town Of Erwin (Unicoi County)

211 North Main
P. O. Box 59
Erwin, TN 37650
Phone: (423) 743-6231
Fax: (423) 743-3983
City URL:
City Email Address:

Governing Body
Meets: 2nd and 4th Monday
Time: 6:30 PM
Place: Municipal Building
Office Hours
Mon, Tue, Thu, Fri 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM Wed 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM

Charter for Town Of Erwin
Municipal Data
Municipal Court: Yes
2017 Population (Certified by TNECD): 6,097
Election Date: 11/06/2018
Grand Division: East
# of Employees: 45
2010 Population: 6,097
Square Miles: 2.8
Time Zone: Eastern
MTAS Management Consultant
W. Patrick Hardy
City: Water, Sewer
Other: Garbage, Gas
City Data
County Seat: Yes
Charter Form: Private Acts 1947, ch. 297, p. 1185
Year of Incorporation: 1903
Incorporation Act: Private Acts 1903, ch. 308, p. 900
Previous Citations: Private Acts 1913, ch. 56, p. 223
City Officials

Mayor - Doris Hensley
Alderman - Rachelle Shurtz
Alderman - Gary Chandler
Alderman - Gary Edwards
Alderman - Mark Lafever
Alderman - Virgil Moore
Building Inspector - Brian Tapp
City Attorney - Thomas J. Seeley III
City Court Clerk - Janice Day
City Recorder - Glenn Rosenoff
Emergency Management Director - Edward Herndon
Executive Assistant - Bert Muhn
Fire Chief - James D. Bailey
Library Director - Angie Georgeff
Parks Dept. Supervisor - Marlin Hensley
Police Chief - Regan Tilson
Public Works Director - Riki Forney
Records Clerk - Tiffany Hemphill
Street Dept. Supervisor - Greg Forbes
Town Administrator - Glenn Rosenoff
Utilities Manager - Lee Brown
Wastewater Manager - Matt Rice
Water Manager - Matthew Rice

MTAS: Promoting better city government through direct assistance to city officials and their associations