Municipal Technical Advisory Service - City Information

Town of Decatur (Meigs County)

116 North Main Street
Decatur, TN 37322
Phone: (423) 334-5716
Fax: (423) 334-9995
City URL:
City Email Address:

Governing Body
Meets: 2nd Tuesday
Time: 7:00 PM
Place: Decatur Municipal Building
Office Hours
Mon-Fri 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM

Charter for Town of Decatur
Municipal Data
Municipal Court: Yes
2017 Population (Certified by TNECD): 1,598
Election Date: 11/06/2018
Grand Division: East
# of Employees: 18
2010 Population: 1,598
Square Miles: 2.6
Time Zone: Eastern
MTAS Management Consultant
Warren Nevad
City: Water, Sewer
Other: Electric
City Data
County Seat: Yes
Charter Form: Private Acts 2003, ch. 58
Year of Incorporation: 1838
Incorporation Act: Private Acts 1837-38, ch. 237, p. 346; Private Acts 1905, ch. 83, p. 186
Previous Citations:
City Officials

Mayor - Jeff Landrum
Vice Mayor - Ray Melton
Alderman - Becky Haney
Alderman - Mitch Vincent
Alderman - Wayne Irwin
Alderman - Brent Maddron
Alderman - Bryan Peaden
City Attorney - William A. Buckley
City Court Clerk - Kim Scott
City Judge - Kathleen Hodge
City Recorder - Laura Smith
Fire Chief - Eddie Jewell
Police Chief - Monty Rowland
Public Works Director - Jerry Harris
Wastewater Manager - Rusty Smith

MTAS: Promoting better city government through direct assistance to city officials and their associations