## **TITLE 14**

# ZONING AND LAND USE CONTROL

#### **CHAPTER**

1. MUNICIPAL PLANNING COMMISSION.

# CHAPTER 1

# MUNICIPAL PLANNING COMMISSION

## **SECTION**

- 14-101. Creation and membership.
- 14-102. Organization, powers, duties, etc.
- 14-103. Additional powers.
- 14-101. Creation and membership. Pursuant to the provisions of Tennessee Code Annotated, § 13-4-101 there is hereby created a municipal planning commission, hereinafter referred to as the planning commission. The planning commission shall consist of seven (7) members; two (2) of these shall be the mayor and another member of the governing body; the other five (5) members shall be appointed by the mayor. All members of the planning commission shall serve as such without compensation. Except for the initial appointments, the terms of the five (5) members appointed by the mayor shall be for three (3) years each. The terms of the mayor and the member selected by the governing body shall run concurrently with their terms of office. Any vacancy in an appointive membership shall be filled for the unexpired term by the mayor. (Ord. #80-08, Dec. 1980, as amended by Ord. #\_\_\_\_, April 1981)
- **14-102.** <u>Organization, powers, duties, etc</u>. The planning commission shall be organized and shall carry out its powers, functions, and duties in accordance with all applicable provisions of <u>Tennessee Code Annotated</u>, title 13. (Ord. #80-8, Dec. 1980)
- 14-103. <u>Additional powers</u>. Having been designated as a regional planning commission, the municipal planning commission shall have the additional powers granted by, and shall otherwise be governed by the provisions of the state law relating to regional planning commissions. (Ord. #80-8, Dec. 1980)